Councillor Taggart resized for web

District 10

Tom Taggart - District 10

138 Edgewood Road
Bass River, Nova Scotia
B0M 1B0

Phone: 902-899-7768

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tom Taggart is serving his third term as Councillor in District 10.

Tom is a lifetime resident of Bass River.  He and his wife of 38 years have three children - Thomas, Alysse and Megan.  Tom is employed as a Realtor.

An active member of Council, Tom serves as Chair of the Planning Advisory Committee.  He is also a member of the Executive and Audit Committee, and Dangerous and Unsightly Premises Committee.  

Tom also represents Colchester County on the Northern Region Waste Management Board where he has been elected Chair.  In his capacity as Chair, he represents this Committee on the Provincial Chairs Committee as well as the Priorities Committee within that Board.

On a national level, Tom is one of four elected officials from Nova Scotia to sit on the Board of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM).  As an FCM Board member, he is Vice Chair of the Standing Committee on Social Economic Development, member of the Standing Committee on Community Safety and Crime Prevention, and Rural Forum and Conference Planning Committee.

Also on a national level, Tom is a member of a Joint FCM, Corrections Canada, Public Safety Canada and Parole Board Canada Community Stakeholder Committee.


About District 10

scenery in district 10This area of the county is primarily rural and has one of the more scenic coast lines in the province. This is the main reason why it is a popular region for many who own seasonal residences here. It is home to one of the largest lakes in the County, Folly Lake. This lake and several others surrounding it, make up another popular spot for cottagers.

District 10 is home to the beautiful, municipally owned Five Islands Lighthouse Park.  It is also home to the Kenomee Trail System that is situated in the Economy River Wilderness Area. The Thomas Cove Coastal Reserve Hiking Trails offer picturesque views of the Minas Basin, Cobequid Mountains and Five Islands. Like other districts, it is steeped in history. Londonderry was a steel producing centre in the late 19th century that boasted a hard working population of 5000.

Boundary Description

Bounded on the north by the County line;

Bounded on the west by the County line;

Bounded on the south by the Cobequid Bay;

Bounded on the east by District 9 and District 7; and

Is comprised of the Communities of Lynn, Lower Five Islands, Five Islands, Simpson Lake, Lower Economy, Carrs Brook, Economy, Upper Economy, Little Bass River, Bass River, McCormack Lake, Castlereagh, Montrose, Portapique, Five Houses, Highland Village, Lornevale, Londonderry, Londonderry Station, East Village, Great Village, Little Dyke, Glenholme, Folly Mountain, Folly Lake, Hart Lake, Lower Debert and Masstown.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use.